Author Topic: Leakage in Splash  (Read 4131 times)

heatherscooby77

Leakage in Splash
« on: July 23, 2013, 04:38:21 PM »
I have been breeding bbs Ameraucana for approximately 4 years now.  During this time period I have had several splash cockerels I have liked and have wanted to grow out.  Between 4-5 months as there feathers are coming in they get leakage.  I have had some with gold, some with red.  As soon as I notice the leakage they go into the cull pen.

So my question is do I automatically cull these cockerels.  Or should I cross them with a hen I know has 2 copies silver, is that what I need?  Or am I totally off the mark???  I understand some genetics, I am far from a pro.  I am wondering is there ever a splash cockerel/cock that doesn't have leakage?

John

Re: Leakage in Splash
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2013, 05:34:11 PM »
Heather,

I believe it is best to not breed blues and blacks together, if that is what the "bb" stands for.  The best blacks will carry gold, while the best splash and blue birds will carry silver.  Also, to get the best lacing on blues you will want to breed blue to blue.  Christie started a great topic on this.
For blue birds cull the splash and blue birds that show any gold.  Take the best splash (silvery...no gold) male(s) and put him over your best blue (laced if you have any) females.  Keep only the pullets from this mating.  They will only carry silver, due to it being sex-linked.  Use that best splash male over them and all the offspring should be pure for silver. 
If you have to go back to an outcross using black be sure to only use black females and then only keep the pullets to breed from in your blue and/or splash project(s).  This is also true when an outcross to black is needed to improve size, egg color, feather quality, etc. of lavender strains.   
« Last Edit: July 23, 2013, 05:40:15 PM by John »

heatherscooby77

« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2013, 11:40:36 PM »
Thank you John!

John