Author Topic: Lighting IS everything - egg color  (Read 6334 times)

Birch Run Farm

Lighting IS everything - egg color
« on: February 12, 2011, 11:57:32 AM »
I wish I was a photo expert, lighting IS everything:

Same eggs!

Mike Gilbert

« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2011, 01:17:27 PM »
Ann, are the eggs in the last basket shown the same as the eggs in the other baskets?   How about the second basket?

John

« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2011, 01:23:07 PM »
lighting IS everything

Here are 3 pics of the same egg from last May.  I took them to show the crack in the shell and used 3 different flash settings.

Birch Run Farm

« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2011, 01:42:56 PM »
All the same eggs!  The small group in the white colander are the darkest and richest colored from the big egg basket.  The flash totally washed them out.  

If you look at the photo with the dark back gound, top view of the basket, that produced the color that I see when looking at the eggs.

Now, these photos are from just the other day.  My hatching eggs from later in the season rarely look this nice.  That is the reason I take early season photos to show buyers the difference.

The blue eggs are araucana and BW ameraucana and the dark eggs are French cuckoo marans and a few X mutts for other colors.

Beth C

« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2011, 02:06:16 PM »
I hate when anyone asks about egg color, because no one ever sees it the same, and I have yet to get a picture that looks like what I see, so I\'ve taken to doing this. Hopefully whatever the lighting does to the egg, it also does to the card, so someone at least has a ballpark idea...

Cloverleaf Farm

« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2011, 04:25:10 PM »
Quote from: Beth C