Author Topic: Breeding Pens  (Read 9313 times)

Jess

Breeding Pens
« on: September 07, 2011, 08:45:20 PM »
Evening folks,
After 11 inches of rain left by Tropical storm Lee, I have started to set up my breeding pens. I had to wash and clean out all my feeders because the rain blew in on all of them.
I have 4 pens with Wheatens in them and 3 pens with Blacks in them.
Pen # 1 I have 2 pullets from Jeans stock with a rooster from Barbar Campbells stock.

Pen # 2 has 4 pullets from Wayne merdeth stock with a rooster from Barbar Campbells stock.

Pen # 3 Has 3 pullets from Barbar Campbells stock with a rooster from Jeans stock.

Pen # 4 has 3 pullets from Barbar Campbell stock with a rooster from Wayne Merdeth stock.

My 3 black pens all have splash roosters from Wayne and  larry garners and whitmore  stock.
I already have several orders for Blue chicks, Which sells great in this area.

If you have any advice on this, please feel free to tell me. I am new to this and really want to get this right.
I have tried to put roosters with hens that will enhance different traits. Now I wait and see.
Thanks Jess

bantamhill

Breeding Pens
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2011, 10:10:28 PM »
Jess:

Is there a particular reason why you are mixing the wheaten lines? Have you done any test mating to see what will happen?

I tend to recommend that breeders work with a line before introducing new blood to the line. It is good to understand the strengths and weaknesses of a line before introducing new blood. I agree with your idea of enhancing traits/balancing strengths, but it is difficult for me to personally judge the plan without having observed the birds for a good while. I suggest really careful record keeping!