The Official Forum of the Ameraucana Breeders Club > Exhibiting & Promoting

4-H fitting and showmanship ???

(1/3) > >>

Russ:
Hello everyone, I have a quick question concerning showmanship for youth in 4-H. This year I have become poultry leader for the local 4-H club my children are involved in. This is only there second year (with my daughter still being a clover bud) and I remember last year during showmanship the Judge was asking if anyone had a stick (for posing the bird). I have been searching for a place to purchase one of these sticks but have not found any. Does anyone know where I could order one of these at. I would really like to be able to demonstrate and show the youth the proper way to show according to the 4-H poultry fitting and showmanship guide. Also any other advise would be greatly appreciated I am new to this, and really want to give them the best opportunity to shine plus HAVE FUN  :D. Thanks for any input, Russ

Jean:
http://www.twincitypoultrysupplies.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=6&products_id=270

Don:
Russ, often times you can find telescoping pointers at Walmart for a few bucks.  They are nothing fancy, but if you are buying for a group of kids they would be a cost effective option.   I like to have a few around anyway.  At least when I need one I am more apt to find at least one of them.   

Russ:
Thanks Jean and Don, Judging sticks duh. I guess it is easier to find something if you know what to call it. Seemed the only thing I was finding was a stick for catching chickens  ::) at least I had enough common sense to know that was NOT what I was looking for  ;D and to bring my question here  ;)

Russ: