Author Topic: Custom Incubators  (Read 15758 times)

John

Re: Custom Incubators
« Reply #15 on: January 17, 2013, 09:42:10 AM »
Max,
Thanks.  We have somewhat similar backgrounds.  I served part of a Die Maker apprenticeship, but I'm (was) a Patternmaker by trade having worked wood, metal, layout and design.  I  worked in both corporate and job shops and even had a small wood shop with a couple employees out in my pole barn years ago. 
The part that I dreaded most about building the incubators was having to cut up the cabinet material.  It came in 5' by 8' sheets.  I asked the place that I ordered it from if they could cut it and found that for just $15 they would cut all the pieces to size.  This also saved on freight, by having all the pieces fit on one pallet and all the cuts were square and most were dimensionally very accurate.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2015, 02:26:44 PM by John Blehm »

Max

• ABC Members
  • Associate
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: January 17, 2013, 11:43:49 PM »
I have worked for the same company for over 24 years. I learned the machining and tool & die on the job and went to school for the programming. I feel very fortunate to work for such a great company and the benefits are great as well.
I've been planning to rebuild my GQF cabinets. The plastic board looks really nice. I'm glad to hear they will cut it for you, that's a huge time saver! How are the insulating properties of the plastic compared to wood? Also, how do you like the Herpstat controller? I may use those when I rebuild...
Max Strawn

John

« Reply #17 on: January 19, 2013, 06:27:10 PM »
How are the insulating properties of the plastic compared to wood? Also, how do you like the Herpstat controller?

I couldn't find anything on the website for the plastic board about insulation value.  I believe it would be similar to or better than plywood and it has so much more going for it over marine grade plywood.