Author Topic: Artificial light and male fertility  (Read 14499 times)

Schroeder

Artificial light and male fertility
« on: December 29, 2012, 07:29:54 PM »
I've had 15 hours of light in my hens/pullets coop for a couple of months.  I'm getting about 9 eggs a week from my 3 Wheaten hens, and just put 18 eggs in the incubator a few days ago.  I have a bachelor pad with 5 cocks/cockerels of different breeds and varieties in which there is no added light.  I'd been taking a BW cockerel to the hens for 24 hour periods every several days.

When I broke open the eggs to look for fertility, I couldn't see the "bullseye" but thought maybe I just didn't know what I was looking for, so I went ahead and incubated 18 anyway.  Well, I just read in another forum that it is just as important to have the cock exposed to 15 hours of light to assure fertility.   I guess I will know in a few more days when I candle, but I don't know if I will be able to tell immediately.  I had been so excited about the prospect of October show ready birds, but now my enthusiasm has been deflated.

How important do you think artificial light is on the males?  I'm reluctant to start with artificial light in the bachelor coop because the added hours of light (inside) might increase the potential for fighting.  If you recommend this is critical, would it be bad to thrust the cockerel into 15 hours of light without slowly acclimating him to the additional light?

Sharon Yorks

• ABC Members
  • Ameraucana Guru
    • View Profile
    • http://www.sharonyorks.com
Re: Artificial light and male fertility
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2012, 08:00:33 PM »