Author Topic: Preparing incubators for hatching  (Read 11693 times)

Don

• ABC Members
  • Ameraucana Guru II
    • View Profile
Preparing incubators for hatching
« on: December 15, 2013, 08:45:37 AM »
Not that I'm there yet, but I am beginning to think about a new hatch year.  Last year was a bad year with extremely poor hatches for us.  So what process can you share about how you get your birds and incubators ready for this new year?
« Last Edit: December 21, 2013, 12:15:20 PM by John »
Don Cash
Matthew 4:9

Mike Gilbert

Re: In Preparation for hatching
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2013, 02:12:03 PM »
Don, I'm no incubation expert, but the best things you can do for your breeder flock to ensure they are not the problem are these.   Make sure they are on a complete breeder ration for at least a month before saving hatching eggs.  Don't give them "treats" as that diminishes the effectiveness of the feed by diluting it.  Make sure they have no issues with internal and external parasites.   Make sure your pens are kept clean and dry.   I use a water soluble vitamin and electrolyte supplement.   Maybe others would like to chime in here as well.

Birdcrazy

• Administrator
  • Ameraucana Guru II
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2013, 06:13:26 PM »
I agree with Mike. I think a lot of hatching problems stem from flock maintenance, not the incubators. As far as the incubators and hatchers go, I start with a thorough cleaning with Tek-Trol disinfectant solution. I usually run the incubators and hatchers for a couple of days to check for constant temperature and humidity and see that the egg turners are operating properly. If not, its maintenance time for heat elements, thermostats, motors etc. I try to have spare parts on stock at all times. Nothing worse than having a part go
out 2 weeks into a hatch cycle. With the Hatcher available I can transfer eggs and keep them warm while I make repairs and get back in business.
Gordon Gilliam

Don

• ABC Members