Author Topic: Rooster Trouble  (Read 9044 times)

Janet

Rooster Trouble
« on: April 13, 2014, 10:28:55 AM »
I'm new to chickens, getting my first birds a year ago.  My Ameraucanas came from Paul Smith.

I'm having aggressive issues with the one Ameraucana rooster I have left.  He's a lovely looking bird, a wonderful guardian of the free range flock but he is a bit too aggressive with people.  The other cockerel I grew out (and processed) was also aggressive.  Both the aggressive birds were in the bbs variety and might even have come from the same breeding pen.  The variety might have nothing to do with it.

I have a new group of 12 two-month old bbs chicks from Paul Smith and when they are old enough to watch for danger, the aggressive bird will be culled.  At what age are the young birds likely able to take over the duties of the rooster I have? 

So far, I have had no success with raising sensible Ameraucana roosters.  Either I am doing something terribly wrong or these birds were destined to be bad birds no matter what I did with them.  I have two hatchery bantam roosters in my back yard--a Silkie and a Cochin--and they are not at all problematic.  The Ameraucana rooster is going to be dangerous soon.

How do I raise a rooster that is not going to attack people?  My LF flock free ranges on my almost 2-acre front yard.  I'm getting sick and tired of always watching my back and having to carry a bamboo pole to keep him at bay.  He's now starting to stand his ground when he rushes me and I turn to face him.  If I have a light stick in my hand, he won't bother me.  The other day he was so in my face, I managed to grab him by the hackles with both hands and he almost ended up with a dislocated neck right then and there.  It was so tempting.

I don't mess with the hens.