Author Topic: Duckfoot issues  (Read 4161 times)

KalJen Farm

Duckfoot issues
« on: June 30, 2014, 09:59:38 AM »
Hello Everyone! It has been ages since i was last on. Just wanted to give everyone a status update. I am currently off for the summer from Wilmington College. I am majoring in Animal Science. I have been extremely busy doing improvements on my poultry facilities. With that said i have hatched nearly 130 ameraucanas this year. I am very pleased wit the years hatches except for one little thing...duckfoot. I remember another poultry breeder pointing that out on one of my young blue cockerels three years ago. I had promptly gotten rid of that bird like he suggests and went on my merry way with my flock. I went out to my flock of 38 4 to 5 month old ameraucanas....and i "think" 10 of them have duck foot. A few were obvious but then there is a handful that have the hind toe forward on only one leg and the other foots fine. Then there are some where the toe is sticking slightly in towards the other foot but not completely back like i want. From my research duck foot is genetic? I will dull if i need to, but i find it odd all the duck footed birds happen to be my BEST males and females...and they are all black. I have my speculations that it is from initially my black cock bird and then his son. I bred with both this year and both groups of birds blue and blacks have this popping up. I will post pictures later today and put them on tonight.

Lee G

• ABC Members
    • View Profile
Re: Duckfoot issues
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2014, 04:23:24 PM »
Hi Jensen,
I share your duck foot woes unfortunately…  :-\