Author Topic: Breeding black to splash  (Read 21732 times)

John Jordan

Breeding black to splash
« on: May 06, 2015, 09:01:52 AM »
I have been told that if you breed a black cock to a splash hen, you will get 100% blue chicks. Can anyone confirm this? and would it also be true that a splash cock to a black hen would also give you 100% blue? If both are true would it be dark blue or light blue? My objective is to determine if I want to keep any splash hens or cocks to breed with.

Susan Mouw

• ABC Lifetime Award
  • Ameraucana Guru II
    • View Profile
    • Sand Castles Farm
Re: Breeding black to splash
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2015, 09:15:06 AM »
I am just getting started with the BBS, but I've had wheaten/blue wheatens for several years and the color genetics for wheaten/blue wheaten/splash wheaten are the same as for BBS. Yes, it is true that if you breed splash (cock or hen) to black (cock or hen), you will get all blues.  So, if BB = black, Bb = blue, and bb = splash, this is what their breeding would look like.

BB(black) x BB(black) = 100% BB (black)

BB(black) x Bb(blue) = 50% BB (black) and 50% Bb (blue)

Bb(blue) x Bb(blue) = 25% BB(black), 50% Bb(blue), and 25% bb(splash)

BB(black) x bb(splash) = 100% Bb(blue)

Bb(blue) x bb(splash) = 50% Bb(blue) and 50% bb(splash)
Susan Mouw
Sand Castles Farm
http://www.sandcastlesfarm.com

Don

• ABC Members
  • Ameraucana Guru II
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2015, 10:17:25 AM »