Author Topic: Comb Question  (Read 4460 times)

Brandy Harrington

Comb Question
« on: May 21, 2015, 10:29:13 AM »
Hello! My name is Brandy and I am new to the page.  I am looking for some advise on the comb of my young black Ameraucana.  I'm interested to see what experienced breeders have to say about the potential of breeding or showing him.  He is close to perfect in every way except the needed "pea comb".  Any suggestions/advise welcomed, even if the answer is cull  :-\

Max

• ABC Members
  • Associate
    • View Profile
Re: Comb Question
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2015, 03:06:05 PM »
Hi Brandy,  Welcome to the ABC!

If he is all you have then you should use him for breeding. He probably wouldn't do well at a show.  Combs are relatively easy to improve. Be sure to breed him to a female with a nice proper comb. You should get a male with a good comb which you could then breed back to his mother.

BTW, how are the chicks doing that I sent to you?
Max Strawn

Brandy Harrington

« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2015, 04:38:48 PM »
Hey Max! Thanks for help.  The pic I posted here had a better shot of his comb then the other one I sent you.  Your chicks are growing fast!! And they are beautiful.  My intentions are to hopefully breed him to one of your black hens when she's old enough.  I will post pics of the wheaten/blue wheaten for you to see.  I can't tell you how excited I am to have them.  Thanks again for the response! I'm sure I will have other questions along the way  :)

Don

• ABC Members
  • Ameraucana Guru II
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2015, 10:26:06 PM »