Author Topic: Building the Best Breeding Pens?  (Read 16730 times)

Courtney Galle

Building the Best Breeding Pens?
« on: May 31, 2015, 01:23:12 PM »
Hello everyone,

I'm brand new to ABC and about a year into my Ameraucana breeding program. My husband and I realized that we really need to get our breeding pens designed and built for our up coming cockerels and pullets. To date we have one large (really big) coop with my two AM (is it okay to abbreviate?) hens and two AM cocks, mixed with my egg layers. It has been fine having the two cock birds together as they were raised together and don't tend to fight but obviously this won't be sustainable next year when I have more than the two breeder hens.

SO I have a huge favor to ask the group. Could you please let me know what you have ended up with as your breeding pen set up, what you tried and hated, loved, etc. Our history has been to build based on "cool internet plans" or to fit existing structures (which turned out not to be square, ugh) and then months later regretting large portions of the design.

At the moment we are leaning toward this type of design: http://www.backyardchickens.com/t/731570/my-lg-fowl-breeding-pens

We have it set up as a 4x4 pens divided by solid wood two feet up and then wire between pens and with solid wood back and ends. Each pen would also have a pop door leading to a 10x4 wire run for each pen. I would plan to alternate which group was outside to prevent fighting, and free ranging one group a day for exercise etc.

I think we may be focused too much on giving them room and free ranging access but with 10 acres and no other live stock something should be out on the land.

Lastly, how do you house your birds the rest of the year? Do they stay in these pens year round as flocks or do you integrate them back into larger groups? If you leave them in the breeding pens how do you do your set up inside each one (i.e. roosts, food, nest boxes).