Author Topic: New with questions  (Read 7491 times)

John Scruggs

New with questions
« on: June 13, 2016, 10:30:34 AM »
Good morning!  I am new to the breed and recently purchased hatching eggs from Mrs. Mouw.  I am working with the 4H agents in our area here in middle Georgia and we are starting a poultry program for the kids.  All the kids this year, bought copper marans chicks to show this fall and next year because that is what we had available at the time before school was out.  However, I am planning to get them to change to Ameraucanas next year for a few different reasons.  This year we had about 25 kids and they each got two chicks to take home and raise/handle over the summer. 

My plan is to have a small breeding flock of quality birds.  I will collect their eggs and we will hatch them in class next spring, and the kids will take the chicks home to raise and show. 

All that being said, here is my dilemma.  I have a very nice, concrete floor, covered metal roof pen that is 10 x 10.  I have 7 black chicks and 10 wheatens chicks, some of which are showing blue wheatens coloration.  I'm thinking with a pen this size, I need to keep whatever turns out to be my best cockerel and 4-5 of the best pullets for breeding stock.  I am leaning heavily toward the wheatens because they seem to be the most calm and I have a few more of them for selection purposes.  After a few months of grow out, I will probably find an interested kid and give them the best of the blacks.  The rest I will just sell as easter eggers. If there are undesirable characteristics that are already visible, (mine are 5 1/2 weeks old and I am transitioning them to the outside pen this afternoon as it has been and looks to continue to be very hot here in Georgia) I can start thinning the flock now.  Can someone post some picture of what I should be looking for as cull/selection characteristics in the wheatens?   Ie. pictures of what to look for, and explanations of good and bad traits.  Thank you!