Author Topic: Egg color?  (Read 6024 times)

Kelly Gore

• ABC Members
    • View Profile
Egg color?
« on: January 14, 2017, 07:54:42 PM »
As you all know, I am new to this breed. My 2- six month old pullets finally laid eggs today. Both on the same day. Yes I was excited, then kind of let down. The color is so light. So I got out my nifty egg color wheel, which I also received today with my new member packet (yeah!) and they were a #16. Is there any chance they may darken a bit? I have had EE's that lay bluer eggs! I think the answer is, it is what it is, but wanted to make sure. Thank you!

Birdcrazy

• Administrator
  • Ameraucana Guru II
    • View Profile
Re: Egg color?
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2017, 10:18:28 PM »
Kelly, What variety of Ameraucana are your pullets? Some varieties tend to lay lighter colored eggs than other varieties. Some say Blacks tend to lay the bluest eggs. I know that my Wheaten and Blue Wheaten tend to lay a pastel blue egg as compared to my Black/Blue/Splash varieties. I have been working with the W and BW line to get a deeper blue egg. One thing positive their eggs are always a shade of blue which is not the case of the Black/Blue/Splash. When starting with that varieties my eggs ranged from olive to green to blue green to blue to blue blue. By selection I have gotten ridden of the olive and green egg layers. Now down to working on the bluish green, blue and blue blue egg layers. Slow work, but moving in a positive direction. Some say that egg color tends to be influenced by the male bird. They maintain never use a male bird that came out of anything but a blue egg. Now with that aside, that only leaves size, conformation, eye color, muffs and beards, feather color, leg color etc. to work on. That's what can be so rewarding and fun trying to get the right balance. Have fun with your poultry and enjoy them!
Gordon Gilliam

Kelly Gore

• ABC Members
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2017, 10:39:59 PM »