Author Topic: Diatomaceous Earth  (Read 4318 times)

Sarah Meaders

• ABC Members
    • View Profile
Diatomaceous Earth
« on: October 11, 2017, 07:38:32 AM »
This post is about Diatomaceous Earth. Full disclosure, I am NOT an expert with this stuff at all, nor am I experienced enough to be considered "wise counsel" with pest/parasite control in animals. This is my experience.

For anyone who uses DE in any aspect, PLEASE DO NOT ignore the recommendation to WEAR A MASK. No matter how many times you have used it with no issues, WEAR A DANG MASK. And NEVER dust ANYTHING in an enclosed space. I don't care how windy it is, wait until the wind stops if you must, but do NOT dust your birds inside an enclosed area. Here's why...please read every word.

Almost two years ago, I dusted my Australorps inside their pen, which was enclosed on three sides for the winter. Since it was very nice outside, I didn't wear my normal face mask. One hen got irritated at me and began flapping like crazy after I dusted her, sending DE dust in the air all around me. I thought nothing of it and kept on. I did, however, send my son away to avoid the dust. The next day, her eye was very swollen, but she acted fine. She never did show any other symptoms of distress or illness.