Author Topic: Newbie Here  (Read 2708 times)

Newbie Here
« on: May 13, 2007, 11:35:30 PM »
Hey guys,

I am new to raising chickens, and we recently purchased some ameraucana chicks from a breeder my husband knows.  He had several colors, and I can\'t remember all them right now.  We purchased 8 chicks from him and are trying now to see if we have hens or roos.  They will be 2 months old on the 22nd of this month.  I am posting 3 pics to see if anyone can help.  Thanks so much.  Oh by the way I have 4 buff orpington\'s too, so don\'t let them throw you off!!  The two that are pictured alone we have heard crowing, but it is two very very different sounds.  Is that normal?

Michele

Newbie Here
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2007, 04:39:43 PM »

your chick picture looks like you have a couple silvers and a couple of what I called brown/red, but the older pictures dont.
they look like mixed chicks?,
A couple look like the brown/gold that some folks have been working on, not a recognized color yet, but a work in progress.
the one with the black striped feathers does look like a cockerl, but can\'t tell much from a photo, but our cockerls seemd to always be way behing in feathering from the pullets.
at the age you have pictured, you can easily tell a cockerl, as their \"saddle\" feathers are beginning to come in, just lift the feathers on the back, towards the tail region,  and look along their back, if you see pointy feathers coming in it is a cockerl, a pullet\'s feathers are blunt and rounded.