Author Topic: egg color  (Read 4034 times)

egg color
« on: February 22, 2008, 08:17:51 PM »
I am sure that this has been gone over before however I am new to this and I have found searching this forum is not very user friendly.

I was told supposedly by another Ameraucana breeder that as it gets later in the season the Ameraucana eggs tend to get lighter in color. Is this true?

Also, was wondering as a hen gets older does she tend to loose the blue tinting to her eggs? In otherwords do her eggs get dark (i.e an Olive Green color)?

I recently bought some eggs off of ovabid and when I got the eggs was very disappointed in the egg color. I made sure to ask all the right questions (or so I thought). The person that was selling the eggs on ovabid told me they have been refining their flock for the past 12 years. The colored eggs I got were olive green and only 1 light blue egg. Needless to say I was very disappointed and am now thinking these eggs she/he sent me were EE\'s and not True Ameraucanas. I won\'t make that mistake again. This is what they had to say about their eggs \"They have gotten darker over the years by only hatching the darkest greens to add back to our flock\" Why would anyone want that nasty dark green egg color. I personally think the blue color is much prettier.

I know Ameraucana\'s are suppose to lay blue eggs, but it appears a lot of them have more of a blue-blue green egg color. Do many true Ameraucana\'s lay the blue/blue-green egg color? And am assuming you take the bluest of those and hatch those out.

Thanks
Kim

egg color
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2008, 12:39:13 PM »
Kim,

What people say and what people do are two different things. I worked on egg color for six years and decided to switch my efforts to two other projects.