Author Topic: Barred Ameraucana  (Read 35230 times)

John

Barred Ameraucana
« Reply #15 on: September 16, 2008, 07:46:35 PM »
different leg color requirements

And it\'s the same with Ameraucanas having some shade of slate or black shanks.  Slate was the original consensus for Ameraucana shank color, but some variation is due to the influence of the genes (required to make a variety) on the dermis and epidermis.  I know that yellow/willow shanks were voted down way back when the breed was being recognized.  I would also think we wouldn\'t want a variety with white/clear shanks.

Barred Ameraucana
« Reply #16 on: September 16, 2008, 09:57:35 PM »
The information about shank color is very interesting.  I am new to chickens and besides my 3 pure Ameraucanas, I have blue, silver- and gold-laced feed store Wyandottes and Cuckoo (feedstore) and pure Salmon and buff Marans.  I have noticed that the Cuckoo Marans and the Blue Wyandottes have darkish legs (especially along the front of the shank) and the silver and gold-laced wyandottes have yellow legs, but the Black/silver Maran and salmon Maran have very dark legs while the buff Maran has light legs.

I have tried to isolate some legs in pictures I had on my computer.  But I did not have any of the Blue Wyandottes or the Cuckoo Maran pullets.

Danielle in Utah

Mike Gilbert

Barred Ameraucana
« Reply #17 on: September 16, 2008, 11:37:38 PM »
We also would not want an Ameraucana that does not have the melanized dermis.    A bird without the dark pigment in the underneath layer of skin does not have slate legs, no matter what shade it is.    They may be \"darkish\" because the gene at the e-locus causes some dark pigment to develop in the epidermis, but that is not the same as slate.    This dark dermis is not going to happen in a sex-link barred variety because the barring gene prevents it.    Period.

Barred Ameraucana
« Reply #18 on: September 17, 2008, 07:12:49 AM »