Author Topic: Tail less birds  (Read 8663 times)

Tail less birds
« Reply #15 on: September 16, 2008, 07:16:46 AM »
No the tardy feathering gene is a different gene than the sex linked K gene. Sex linked traits are used to sex day old chicks. I have had birds that do not have tail feathers until they are over two months old. I want the slower feather growth in my birds. I am working on a barred rhode island red. Slower feather growth means better bars.  White bars on a red back ground is a challenge and I need all the genetic help I can get.

Tim

Tail less birds
« Reply #16 on: September 16, 2008, 10:06:45 PM »
Quote from: Mike Gilbert
Okay, I found my Sellers genetics info.  

Mike - can you provide the details on this book?  I would like to get a copy.  I work in the (human) genetics field and would like to learn more about my new friends, the chickens!

Thanks,
Danielle in Utah

Tail less birds
« Reply #17 on: September 16, 2008, 10:49:31 PM »

Tail less birds
« Reply #18 on: September 16, 2008, 11:02:20 PM »
 :D Cool!  Thanks!

Mike Gilbert

Tail less birds
« Reply #19 on: September 16, 2008, 11:24:30 PM »
Tim,
The Sellers site lists four possibilities at the K locus, but I can\'t find anything about a \"tardy\" feathering gene.   What is the symbol, and where can we read about it?   Thanks.

Mike

Tail less birds
« Reply #20 on: September 17, 2008, 08:14:45 PM »
Quote from: Mike Gilbert
Tim,
The Sellers site lists four possibilities at the K locus, but I can\'t find anything about a \"tardy\" feathering gene.   What is the symbol, and where can we read about it?   Thanks.

Mike

Mike check out the Maran Genetics page at http://marans-club.club.fr/genetiqa.htm#genetiqa

It is a little hard to follow sometimes due to the translation from French, but it does discuss and give the symbols for the slow feathering alleles at K.  Hope that is helpful.

Danielle in Utah (using Liz in Utah\'s computer  ;))

Mike Gilbert

Tail less birds