Author Topic: Silver chicks question  (Read 2948 times)

Silver chicks question
« on: June 18, 2008, 12:36:00 PM »
I am just getting into the Ameraucana\'s as I do eventually want to breed on a small scale. I want to get into the whites and silvers. Anyways, I currently have 3 silver chicks (2 7wk olds, and 1 2day old). For those of you more experienced have you noticed w/ the silvers that when hatching they seem on the weaker side than say the whites or blues or any of the other colors for that matter? Reason being is my 2 older silvers when they hatched they almost died on me. I literally had to bring them back to life. I guess they were in a really deep sleep and the hen actually booted them out. My other silver (2 day old) hatched out fine. But I had 2 other silvers, 1 that hatched then died later in the day. And one that maybe developed until Day 16 or 17 and died in the shell.

What are you breeders that are more experienced than me find w/ the silver chicks. Do you find any similar situations as to what I had, and they just seem to be on the weaker side?

Thanks
Kim

Mike Gilbert

Silver chicks question
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2008, 09:48:36 PM »
You didn\'t say whether yours are bantam or large fowl, but I\'m guessing large fowl.   To answer your question, the few silvers I  hatched this year (combination of John Blehm\'s male and a female from my line) were some of the most active and healthiest I hatched this year.   I got a total of 16 chicks from one pair mating.   If you are having problems with yours, it may be a symptom of inbreeding depression?
Are the parents closely related?

John

Silver chicks question
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2008, 09:59:39 PM »
I\'ll agree with Mike.  I hatched many silver bantam and LF Ameraucana chicks this year and had great hatches with them all.

Silver chicks question
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2008, 10:18:32 AM »