Author Topic: Erminett genetics question  (Read 7526 times)

jerryse

Erminett genetics question
« on: December 14, 2011, 11:45:11 AM »
I have been playing with this gene for 2 years.At first I thought it was pied.I read now that pied is recessive and erminett is dominate.Since I have produced these with 1 copy and only roosters this must be erminett.I will assume since it inhibits melanin a bird with 2 copies would be nearly white.I found a question online about mating a white erminett with a black erminett producing only black.Just does not sound right.I am very poor with the chicken calculator.Can anyone help find the answer?Ermin faveroles look columbian and must be the columbian gene.

bryngyld

• ABC Members
  • Associate
    • View Profile
    • http://www.bryngyld.com
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2012, 08:56:16 AM »
This might be a good article, but you have to pay to view the whole thing.
http://jhered.oxfordjournals.org/content/55/5/200.extract

Also at the bottom of this very long page is a genetics chart.  I don\'t see Ermine, but then I really don\'t know what it is or what else it could be called.
http://kippenjungle.nl/Overzicht.htm#kippengenen
Lyne Peterson
Northern California

bryngyld

• ABC Members
  • Associate
    • View Profile
    • http://www.bryngyld.com
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2012, 08:59:33 AM »
I lifted this from a discussion on BYC: