Author Topic: 4-H fitting and showmanship ???  (Read 6995 times)

Russ

4-H fitting and showmanship ???
« on: June 08, 2012, 10:52:47 PM »
Hello everyone, I have a quick question concerning showmanship for youth in 4-H. This year I have become poultry leader for the local 4-H club my children are involved in. This is only there second year (with my daughter still being a clover bud) and I remember last year during showmanship the Judge was asking if anyone had a stick (for posing the bird). I have been searching for a place to purchase one of these sticks but have not found any. Does anyone know where I could order one of these at. I would really like to be able to demonstrate and show the youth the proper way to show according to the 4-H poultry fitting and showmanship guide. Also any other advise would be greatly appreciated I am new to this, and really want to give them the best opportunity to shine plus HAVE FUN  :D. Thanks for any input, Russ

Jean

• Administrator
  • Ameraucana Guru
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pipsandpeeps.com
Jean

Don

• ABC Members
  • Ameraucana Guru II
    • View Profile
Re: 4-H fitting and showmanship ???
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2012, 01:54:04 PM »
Russ, often times you can find telescoping pointers at Walmart for a few bucks.  They are nothing fancy, but if you are buying for a group of kids they would be a cost effective option.   I like to have a few around anyway.  At least when I need one I am more apt to find at least one of them.   
Don Cash
Matthew 4:9

Russ

« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2012, 09:56:24 PM »
Thanks Jean and Don, Judging sticks duh. I guess it is easier to find something if you know what to call it. Seemed the only thing I was finding was a stick for catching chickens  ::) at least I had enough common sense to know that was NOT what I was looking for  ;D and to bring my question here  ;)

Russ

« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2012, 01:38:59 PM »