Author Topic: How big should the LF Ameraucanas Be at 7 months?  (Read 4525 times)

vanalpaca

How big should the LF Ameraucanas Be at 7 months?
« on: February 11, 2013, 07:06:05 AM »
 :-\
I have had my birds all in a large mixed flock pen so haven't paid a lot of attention other than feeding out and chores. Most of the time when I attend the pen it is close to dark and one group of birds is always piled in the large breeder cage. I cleared out a pen yesterday (alas some cocks off to the butcher...sigh) and moved these Ameraucanas into that pen.

So catching them up and hands on, I'm thinking they are mostly hens and on the small size. A couple had real rolly polly butts.

I have a few nice sized cocks that are a year or two old from a friend and was expecting that these birds would have all been pretty much 'grown up' by now. I'm actually wondering if they are closer to bantams than LF simply because they aren't really big.

I am very new to chickens, coming up on my second full year, and the majority of my LF Ameraucanas I brought in as chicks in May/June.

My buffs from John 'look' larger than this group of birds, but they have been in with the Welsummer hens all winter and it just might be fluff. BTW, I have one Buff crowing and another not that has the same size comb as the cockerel, both have the whitish/grey legs. At least 3 others have the yellow legs, and I have a total of 7 Buffs that grew up out of the 14 that I got in. So I am basing my SIZE issue off of these birds and the 3 older cocks.

Thanks, sorry I haven't been on to update you all as my birds grew up this year, been busy as hubby has health issues, and just having time to do basic farm chores.

I am thrilled to have Ameraucans and be part of this group. Bonnie from Clyde, OH
« Last Edit: February 14, 2013, 10:07:49 AM by vanalpaca »

Mike Gilbert

Re: How big should the LF Ameraucanas Be at 7 months?
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2013, 07:42:54 AM »