Author Topic: Off-Color Blues?  (Read 3552 times)

Max

• ABC Members
  • Associate
    • View Profile
Off-Color Blues?
« on: September 04, 2013, 02:37:45 PM »
I hatched 15-20 birds this past spring that turned out with this off color. The odd thing is that all of them are males. They all came from a black male/blue female mating. I suspect that the male is based on gold rather than silver. I'm still learning the basics of genetics so hopefully the more experienced breeders will chime in... In the future I will try John and Mike's advice and only breed like colors.
Max Strawn

greeneggsandham

• ABC Members
  • Colleague
    • View Profile
Re: Off-Color Blues?
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2013, 05:52:11 PM »
I hatched 15-20 birds this past spring that turned out with this off color. The odd thing is that all of them are males. They all came from a black male/blue female mating. I suspect that the male is based on gold rather than silver. I'm still learning the basics of genetics so hopefully the more experienced breeders will chime in... In the future I will try John and Mike's advice and only breed like colors.

I'm not seeing it.  What is off?  How old are these male birds?
Sharon
Hubby rues the day he brought the chicks home...

Mike Gilbert

« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2013, 07:50:31 PM »

Blue is highly variable in expression, especially in males.  The hackles and head are usually at least a few shades darker than the breast and body in males.  What are you seeing that we are not seeing in the photos?

heatherscooby77

« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2013, 12:16:35 AM »
I can't see anything overly concerning with the color. 

The first pic I can see some alternating shades of blue in the saddle feathers.

The second pic I can see some very slight brassiness in the hackle.