Author Topic: Bathing White Ameraucana\'s  (Read 4202 times)

philipu

Bathing White Ameraucana\'s
« on: July 23, 2005, 02:44:50 PM »
I have no experience in showing White Birds,
This fall I hope to be showing some White Ameraucana\'s.
What would one use to show the white the best, I\'ve heard of
everything from Bluing...to Dog Shampoo.  I guess I could try different things but if some one has some experience with this
I would appreciate the information.
I found that for removing any old scales on birds, to use
a product like Pretty Feet, it really smooths those birds legs, and leaves them nice.
phil

Mike Gilbert

« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2005, 04:57:52 PM »
Phil,
The males, especially, may look brassy until the pin feathers all grow out, particularly in the hackle.   Not much you can do about that - short of cheating.    The best bet is to let them fully feather, give them a decent bath, and let the chips fall where they may.    If they have the proper genetics they won\'t be brassy.   Proper genetics include E or E>R at the e-locus, (S) silver instead of (s) gold, Bl/BL (blue), and possibly a few others.     Sometimes you can get better whites by crossing them with blacks to introduce E at the e-locus, but of course that takes two generations.

faith valley

« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2005, 11:39:26 PM »
Phil,

The best trick I have found for a white chicken is to spray shout on the bird, wrap him up in a towel and then 5 minutes later wash him as normal.  All of the stains will wipe right off.  We do this for our BTW Japanese all of the time.

philipu

« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2005, 06:03:57 PM »
Thanks Patty,
So the Shout will not harm the bird, I will give it a try on one of
my Marans I\'m taking to butcher this week, and try it one of them
there is one that needs it, and I don\'t like to have soiled feathers.
I appreciate the information.phil

faith valley

« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2005, 07:54:53 PM »