Author Topic: Determining Sex  (Read 6958 times)

Jean

• Administrator
  • Ameraucana Guru
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pipsandpeeps.com
Determining Sex
« Reply #15 on: August 10, 2007, 12:40:45 AM »
I think most everyone on the board is trying to breed show quality or close to it birds.  Some are working on new colors, but the end goal will be to get as close to the Standard of Perfection as possible.

When I looked at your bird, the comb was not the first thing that stood out, it was the shape of the head.  Then the comb and then the color of his eyes.

I have only been at this for three years, so I am by no means an expert.  The pictures of the birds on the referenced links really help to get an idea of what you are looking for.

Jean
Jean

Determining Sex
« Reply #16 on: August 10, 2007, 10:19:14 AM »
I did read the standard before, but many of the terms are too vague for me, as a beginner, to know what to look for. Many traits are described with adjectives like \"moderate\", \"medium\", \"expressive\", \"small\", \"full\", etc. These leave an awful large amount of interpretation, especially for someone with little experience.

I have also seen the National meet photos before, but to the untrained eye, it is not easy to see why one is good compared to another.

Mine have no yellow on the legs. They do have white skin. That stuff is easy to see. However, whether it\'s neck is properly arched or if the eyes are expressive, is beyond me at this point.  Jean mentions that the color of it\'s eyes is not right, but I can\'t even find that in the standard. I would also guess that it\'s difficult to evaluate a 12 week old bird to the standard, which I\'m guessing is for adults. Very confusing right now...

John

Determining Sex
« Reply #17 on: August 10, 2007, 12:25:24 PM »
but I can\'t even find that in the standard

Steve,