Author Topic: Winter Beards  (Read 2957 times)

Winter Beards
« on: January 11, 2009, 01:06:15 PM »
This is my first year raising Ameraucana bantams.  They are approximately 9 months old.  I have noticed over the course of the last week or two that their beards have disappeared.  I\'m slightly concerned as sub zero temperatures will arrive this week.  Is this considered part of the molting process or is it something else?  Any ideas why this is happening in the middle of winter?  Is it ultimately because they originated from South America?

John

Winter Beards
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2009, 01:19:10 PM »
molting process or is it something else?

If they are not molting there are some other possible reasons.  These are just some guesses on my part.
Females love to pick the muff feathers from the males and maybe other females if a male isn\'t available.  
They may be bored and pick out the feathers just for something to do.
Maybe there is a lack of protein or other vitamin/mineral that causes some to pick out the feathers of others to supplement thier diet.
Mites/lice could be a problem and they may rub thier muffs/beards to scratch the itch resulting in some loss.

bantamhill

Winter Beards
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2009, 06:16:57 PM »
And mice have been known to do some trimming from time to time.

I would suggest checking for mites first.

Michael

Winter Beards
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2009, 11:19:29 AM »
Thank you for the tips Michael & John.