Author Topic: Chicks w/ pink legs and looking for hatching eggs to buy  (Read 3985 times)

Chicks w/ pink legs and looking for hatching eggs to buy
« on: February 28, 2008, 08:12:47 PM »
I have some chicks that just hatched out yesterday and today. I am new to Ameraucana\'s and am just getting into building my flock. It is my understanding that the Ameraucana\'s should have slate colored legs. Are chicks born w/ pink legs and then as they get older the leg color changes? Or will these chicks I have the pink change to something other than slate?

Also, I am looking to buy hatching fertile eggs. If anyone has any fertile eggs they\'d be willing to send me please let me know price for a dozen and shipping. I am specifically looking for the colors of White, Silver, and Blue. I\'d really like Silvers. Want LF not bantams.

I did recently purchase 14 eggs from a breeder that is listed on the breeders list and needless to say was very disappointed in that out of 14 eggs only 2 were fertile.

Jean

• Administrator
  • Ameraucana Guru
    • View Profile
    • http://www.pipsandpeeps.com
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2008, 09:34:47 PM »
Kim,

What variety are the chicks you are referring to?  The buff, silver,wheaten and blue wheaten varieties hatch with pink legs and they get darker as the bird matures.

Sometimes though, there is not quite enough pigment and the legs look very light and that is something that breeders are working on.

My silvers are not laying yet, so I cannot help you there.

I just started putting a whatever lays auction on egg bid with an assortment of blue, black, buff, white and the wheaten eggs since I end up with a couple of each per day.

I have a list of people about 2-3 pages long of people who are wanting eggs.

Jean
Jean

jwoodhaven

• ABC Lifetime Award
  • Associate
    • View Profile
    • http://www.woodhavenpoultry.com
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2008, 09:36:18 PM »