Author Topic: questions about faults & culling  (Read 3005 times)

Beth C

questions about faults & culling
« on: March 31, 2010, 09:10:57 AM »
I\'m trying to figure out which birds to hang on to and which ones to cull. I see things I\'d like to change in all of them, but I know there are no perfect birds. But I\'m not sure which faults are deal-breakers and which ones can be worked around until you get something better - for example is a single white-tipped feather on a black bird (middle of it\'s back, not on wings or tail) a reason to cull? I\'ve heard any white is a serious fault, I\'ve heard it\'s only a serious fault if it\'s in the wing or tail, and I\'ve heard wing/tail/hackles. Also, where does egg color fall on the list? Does a stunning egg make up for minor defects? Would you cull a very correct bird if it\'s egg color was too far off? This is my first year of trying to breed, but I really want to do the best I can.

Mike Gilbert

« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2010, 12:26:42 PM »
You need to determine your own priorities, but I certainly would not cull for a single minor fault like a white tipped feather on the back.   There could have been follicle damage when the feather first started growing, and the feather could come in all black after the next moult.     And I would not cull a super bird if the egg color was less than desireable unless there were better birds to take its place.   I like to use a double fault system.    I will tolerate one inherited fault provided the future mate to that bird does not have the same fault.   But two or more and its out the door.    Easy to remember, it rhymes.   But it really depends on what level a breeder is at in his or her own breeding program - and what the overall goals are.  

Anne Foley

« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2010, 01:51:11 PM »
Hi Beth,  Culling is the art of the breeder and unfortunately there is no exact formula.  Generally, I like to go about things as follows: